Skip to content

A Complete Fitness Turnaround

November 16, 2015

I thought that I was pretty hard core when it came to keeping fit. That was before I was contracted to write a book on using the new Apple Watch, specifically as a tool for increasing physical fitness. I bought a Watch and started using the native and third party health and fitness apps on the device.

 

The Watch’s Activity app brought home to me just how must time I spent sitting on my fanny in front of a computer screen.  It’s pretty hard to get away from that when your job is to sit in front of a computer screen and write a book. However, the Watch has been successful at making me take frequent breaks to move around a little and get the blood circulating. 

 

The Workout app tracks my heart rate while I am running and also while I am working out.at the gym. It encourages me to get a least a baseline amount of exercise in every day.

 

In addition to the native apps such as Activity and Workout, many third party exercise apps that run on the iPhone have extensions that run on the Watch, enabling you, for example, to track you heart rate, miles run, steps taken, and calories burned on a run, without carting your iPhone along. A quick lift of your wrist and a glance will tell you how you are doing, while you are doing it.

 

All in all, the Apple Watch, along with the careful analysis to be found in my Get Fit with Apple Watch book, can significantly improve your well being and how you feel.  You can buy the book here: http://www.amazon.com/Get-Fit-Apple-Watch-Fitness/dp/1484212827/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1447741401&sr=8-1&keywords=get+fit+with+apple+watch

I had no idea how cool the Apple Watch was until I got one and started using it as my primary tool for encouraging me to work on my physical fitness.

See on Scoop.itLong Life

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

